Councillors

The Gympie region comprises of eight divisions, represented by the Mayor and eight other councillors

Councillors are required to act at all times in accordance with the requirements of the local government principles and the various roles, responsibilities and obligations placed upon them by the Local Government Act 2009.

A Councillor Code of Conduct has further been adopted which emphasizes Council's public commitment to maintaining the high ethical and behavioural standards expected of the Mayor and all Councillors of Gympie Regional Council.

Council has adopted an Investigation Policy which outlines how alleged inappropriate conduct by Councillors will be investigated and determined. 

 

Cr Mick Curran

Mayor Mick Curran

Portfolio: Governance, Finance, ICT and Disaster Management

Mobile: 0417 959 331
E-mail: mayorcurran@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Mark McDonald

Cr Mark McDonald

Position: Councillor - Division 1

Portfolio: Planning and Development

Mobile: 0439 001 170
E-mail: mark.mcdonald@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Glen Hartwig

Cr Glen Hartwig

Position: Councillor - Division 2

Portfolio: Economic Development

Mobile: 0437 722 931
E-mail: glen.hartwig@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Mal Gear

Cr Mal Gear

Position: Councillor - Division 3

Portfolio: Business Activities and Sport

Mobile: 0437 477 245
E-mail: mal.gear@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Daryl Dodt

Cr Daryl Dodt

Position: Councillor - Division 4

Portfolio: Tourism, Environment and Special Projects

Mobile: 0499 080 164
E-mail: daryl.dodt@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Dan Stewart

Cr Dan Stewart

Position: Councillor - Division 5

Portfolio: Community Development

Mobile: 0499 081 404
E-mail: dan.stewart@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Hilary Smerdon

Cr Hilary Smerdon

Position: Councillor - Division 6

Portfolio: Water, Sewerage and Waste Management

Mobile: 0499 080 913
E-mail: hilary.smerdon@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Bob Leitch

Cr Bob Leitch

Position: Deputy Mayor, Councillor - Division 7

Portfolio: Infrastructure Services

Mobile: 0429 231 516
E-mail: bob.leitch@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Bob Fredman 

Position: Councillor - Division 8

Portfolio: Arts, Culture and Open Space

Mobile: 0418 708 745
Email: bob.fredman@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests