Councillors

The Gympie region comprises of eight divisions, represented by the Mayor and eight other councillors. 

Councillors are required to act at all times in accordance with the requirements of the local government principles and the various roles, responsibilities and obligations placed upon them by the Local Government Act 2009.

A Councillor Code of Conduct has further been adopted which emphasizes Council's public commitment to maintaining the high ethical and behavioural standards expected of the Mayor and all Councillors of Gympie Regional Council.

 

Cr Mick Curran

Mayor Mick Curran

Portfolio: Governance, Finance, Disaster Management

Mobile: 0417 959 331
E-mail: mayorcurran@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Mark McDonald

Cr Mark McDonald

Position: Councillor - Division 1

Portfolio: Planning and Development

Mobile: 0439 001 170
E-mail: mark.mcdonald@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Glen Hartwig

Cr Glen Hartwig

Position: Councillor - Division 2

Portfolio: Economic Development

Mobile: 0437 722 931
E-mail: glen.hartwig@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Mal Gear

Cr Mal Gear

Position: Councillor - Division 3

Portfolio: Business Activities

Mobile: 0437 477 245
E-mail: mal.gear@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Daryl Dodt

Cr Daryl Dodt

Position: Councillor - Division 4

Portfolio: Environmental Sustainability and Special Projects

Mobile: 0499 080 164
E-mail: daryl.dodt@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Dan Stewart

Cr Dan Stewart

Position: Councillor - Division 5

Portfolio: Social Wellbeing

Mobile: 0499 081 404
E-mail: dan.stewart@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Hilary Smerdon

Cr Hilary Smerdon

Position: Councillor - Division 6

Portfolio: Water and Sewerage and Waste Management

Mobile: 0499 080 913
E-mail: hilary.smerdon@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr Bob Leitch

Cr Bob Leitch

Position: Deputy Mayor, Councillor - Division 7

Portfolio: Infrastructure Services

Mobile: 0429 231 516
E-mail: bob.leitch@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests

Cr James Cochrane

Cr James Cochrane

Position: Councillor - Division 8

Portfolio: Tourism, Sport and Recreation

Mobile: 0499 080 398
E-mail: james.cochrane@gympie.qld.gov.au

Register of Interests