The Gympie region comprises of eight divisions, represented by the Mayor and eight other councillors (Council). 

Within these divisions, Councillors are responsible for a diverse range of portfolios on behalf of their community, including; planning and economic  development, disaster management, business, environmental sustainability and water management. 

Council plans strategically to ensure services, infrastructure and facilities remain relevant for the community, as well as provide for the needs of a growing resident population.

Gympie Regional Council, as an organisation, delivers and implements the decisions endorsed by Council.